It's all about Amelioration

Just another WordPress.com weblog

AVIOPHOBIA

with 3 comments

Flying. It’s a necessity in today’s inter connected world.

Personally, I cannot do without my travels. Which is why i am worried about my developing fear of flying. It stems from my character I guess. I like being in control. Having the empowerment to do whatever I choose, whenever I want. Thus, you can understand the worry of basically placing my life in somebody’s hands.

Then, there’s  another factor…. Turbulence. Its like a roller coaster ride, except that there are no brakes. When it happens, I would always steal a glance at the nearest steward to assess if their smile is weak. If they themselves look petrified, then I know I’m screwed. Damn “Air Crash Investigations” on Nat Geo, must have watched too many of them.

You know what I think would really help? Have the pilots give a running commentary whenever we hit a bad patch. What’s causing the turbulence? Is it a major one? How long will it last? Education/knowledge is the best key to soothe my fear.Similar to how I use knowledge to feed my existence in the world.

I doubt that they’ll ever implement such a procedure. So in the meantime I am using statistics to enlighten myself. Hmmm, now it seems that

“More people are killed by donkeys annually than are killed in plane crashes.”

– crazy facts 101

Very comforting. Gees.

Written by Nabs

August 31, 2009 at 3:26 am

Posted in MIND, Ramblings

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. These TV programs are grossly irresponsible. They, in order to keep their programs appearing to be current, present crashes from years ago as if they just happened and there is nothing to keep them from happening again to you.

    Whenever there is a crash, measures are taken to rule out it happening again.

    For authoritative information, see http://www.fearofflying.com/wordpress/

    Capt Tom Bunn LCSW

    August 31, 2009 at 9:40 am

  2. Ahem. Still at it eh?

    The wonders and the beauty of the world is not within your grasp that easily i would say. Juz think positive and happy thoughts! Embrace the unknown, not fear it.

    If not how r u suppose to visit the world with me. Heh!

    Still ur no. 1

    September 1, 2009 at 3:59 am

  3. I enjoyed the amusing crazy fact! That thought alone should help people overcome fear of flying. Who knew?

    I’ll have to remember that fact the next time the media calls me for an interview about the latest mishap in the sky.

    You are so right about the fear of flying often being about the fear of being out of control. That’s what I typically find with my clients. Either that or claustrophobia.

    Pilot DJ Frost

    November 6, 2009 at 9:00 pm


Leave a Reply

