It's all about Amelioration

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Are you Politically Apathetic?

with 3 comments

Photo by Irfaan

I USED to be Politically Apathetic like most young adult Singaporeans, too busy with our little work lives. Influenced by my parents and seeing how our little island has grown to a buzzing globalized city, I had the impression that the government was doing a great job.

However, when I started expanding my horizon, reading about the plight of the lower strata of our society,  opposing views from netizens of our ruling party policies and talking to the average man on the street,  it slowly began to draw my attention. I understood that the world does not revolve around me and as  a stakeholder of Singapore Inc, I should be more involved in the issues and running of the state. It will be real disappointing if our existence in the world is only meant for self  gratification.

As I probed, I realized that many bloggers, especially those against our ruling party are not as egocentric as I thought they were. In fact, the more I read, the more it made clear sense to me. Our Prime Minister can use  terms like “astroturfing” to dissuade us to not follow online propaganda blindly, but as a young adult, we read, reflect and judge.

Thus far, I must say that there is no issue that is being brought up by credible alternative blogs like “TheOnlineCitizen”  and of course other  online sources that is being adequately put to the rest by out current ruling party. Besides using words like “affordable”, absurd ideas of using public housing for our retirement funding, and of course the very recent famous statement of, “Even if you can’t afford it, we will have meals delivered to you;” all the public statements by our Ministers are either inadequate or deviating from the core problem. It seems in most cases, it is more of a “smoke screen” than anything else.

Being the ruling party, I expect more fire from them. More passion in serving its citizens above anything else.  Do not be reactive to issues raised by citizens. Be proactive, engage and give assurance. Most importantly do not forget the role as a civil servant. It seems the prestige and pay checks that is attached to the civil service especially in Singapore has disillusioned some of them. I was really perturb when a Minister mentioned recently that the greatest “dignity” it can give Singaporeans is the “dignity” of having a job. The policies by the ruling party also gives me the impression that in a globalised world, a widening income gap is inevitable and losers are down there because they choose to and not by circumstance. Hence, I think it is a total deviation of what a government’s role is that is to

1) Ensure a thriving economy and have fair opportunities for every citizen to grow.

2) Ensure that income levels commensurate with the standard of living.

3) Ensure that citizens that fall through policy cracks are taken care of.

The pen is mightier than a sword,so they say. Thus, with new-found enthusiasm and awareness, I shall use this blog at times, to dwell into several political issues that are close to our hearts.

Written by Nabs

March 30, 2010 at 2:25 pm

Posted in Politics, Ramblings

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 1st!
    Agree. Even if we choose not to care, at least be aware. Don’t let ignorance prevail upon us.

    Ur No. 1

    March 30, 2010 at 3:41 pm

  2. That’s a great article. I feel very much like you. You said it so well. I admire you.

    Great

    April 11, 2010 at 3:24 am

    • Appreciate the support! =>

      Nabs

      April 12, 2010 at 6:19 am


Leave a Reply

